Member of Federation of Astronomical Societies

Member Royal Astronomical Society


 

Moray's Astronomy Club, SIGMA

Next Meetings:

  • Friday 3rd June – 'AGM and Social'

    Our AGM where we elect the Committee members and social gathering the format of which is still TBC.

All club members can also attend the meetings by the Highlands Astronomical Society (HAS).

Future meetings:

Not a Member?  Why not come along as the first meeting's free so you can 'try before you buy'.

Not sure where we meet? Follow this link to Birnie Village Hall where we meet, with doors at 7pm for a 7.30pm start.

 


 

Image(s) of the Moment:


Transit of Mercury - 9 May 2016
Club member Alan Tough has provided these images taken with the DMK51 camera.

This white light image was taken though a SkyWatcher ED100 refractor telescope [at 12.47pm UTC (1.47pm BST)]

 



This H-alpha image was taken through a Lunt LS60T/B1200 [at 2.35pm UTC (3.35pm BST)]



Taken at 2.55pm UT (3.55pm BST) just before the point of Greatest Transit.  There's a nice, but faint, prominence at the 8 o'clock position and another, even fainter one at the 9 o'clock position.



STAR TRAILS OVER DUFFUS CASTLE - Alan Tough

Alan admits he didn't intend to make a star trail image as he was just trying to capture a Geminid meteor; he is I understand still waiting........ Sirius is the bright star/ trail just the centre of the image/ ruins.

More images from club members can be seen at the gallery.

 


More SIGMA Information:

You can follow SIGMA on Twitter and Facebook to keep up to date with our latest news.

Check on the Current and near future conditions in Elgin.